Home > Life, Writing > Goodbyes

Goodbyes

Why do goodbyes always come too soon? Are we ever actually ready to say goodbye, to let go?

Whether it is goodbye to family members, close friends, or a chapter in your life, are you prepared to say goodbye or to leave that part of your story behind? I don’t think so… Or at least, I never feel that way.

Sometimes it’s easier to say goodbye to someone when you know when you will see them again. It’s helpful to have memories, pictures and phone calls, but that’s not the same as having them with you. It’s not the same as being able to sit out on the chicken run and watch the sunset going down while you talk about things that you have only thought of before and are just now being spoken and put into words. It’s not the same as sitting in the moonlight, under the stars on the rifle range relaxing together and not even needing words to say what is on your mind because you all already know. How do you do *that* on the phone? It’s not the same as being able to hold each person close or watch their expressions as you listen. I’m never ready for that last goodbye, or see ya. I know myself well enough to know that I start to pull away early when I can feel it coming, but that doesn’t help and just steals some of the time that you have together. Gotta enjoy the time you have, the memories, the pictures, the phone calls… After goodbyes happen, things seem to go back to the same… but you aren’t the same. That time together has added memories, conversations, advise, and so much more.

I don’t know about you, but for me it’s scary to leave a chapter in my story to move on to the next. It’s scary to feel unprepared for something and have to do it anyway. But then, if we don’t take that step out in faith, what would we do? Stay in this chapter forever? Sometimes we have to be pushed into doing something despite the fear. Sometimes staying put for too long, especially if it’s time to move, just makes it so much harder. There is so much that God has planned for each person, but if you don’t take that next step, you’ll never know. You’ll never experience that blessing. Yeah, it’s scary, but God has proven again and again that He’s here. That He’ll give the strength for what comes next. That He’ll heal the pain, the brokenness, the past. Yes, it will be hard. Yes, it will hurt. Give thanks in everything. Look around you. See the beauty? See the blessings? See the promises? Be thankful.

“Thus saith the Lord the maker thereof, the Lord that formed it, to establish it; the Lord is his name; Call unto me, and I will answer thee, and show thee great and mighty things, which thou knowest not.”

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for peace and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you, declares the Lord. …”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

