Home > Writing > Letter #12 — A Person Who Caused You Pain

Letter #12 — A Person Who Caused You Pain

“God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea; Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. Selah.” – Psalm 46:1-3

05.27.12

     You were once a person that I worked with and did my best to encourage and guide. One day though, you told me that you didn’t trust me anymore, wouldn’t tell me why not, and weren’t going to talk to me. That was it. The last time either of us said anything to the other, except that somehow I ended up being on a list of yours whom you email a link to each of your new blog posts. I don’t think you realize that. Perhaps I should let you know next time.
     When you first told me that you didn’t trust me anymore, it hurt like crazy. I was rather confused, but then I heard some of what was being said. I don’t know why you believed what others said, I don’t even know all that I was being accused of. You never did man up and tell me. The bits that I heard were lies and several people would have been more than happy to tell you so, but you wouldn’t listen to that. To be honest, once I realized what you believed and who you had chosen to be your friends, I felt sorry for you.
     Though this may sound crazy, I want to thank you for growing me up a bit. For that first bit of time, I was learning how to work with and encourage someone. No, you weren’t the first or the last, but each of you have been special. I had the privilege to watch you grow and help that growth. When you decided not to trust me, it taught me even more. I had to get over the fact that there are people who won’t believe the truth, even when it stares them in the face. I learned what it is like to be lied about, but to have people rise to my defense in such a way that it isn’t even necessary to try to respond. I found what it was like to have true friends. Also, when what happened took place, several people (many of whom I did not know) encouraged me and told me of ways that my life had affected them. That was such a blessing! I did feel the pain, but I also felt an overwhelming comfort. When you don’t do something wrong, it makes it so much easier. 
     I want you to know that I am not angry with you. I know that it is sometimes easy to be mislead. I remember the time we knew each other as a growing experience. I enjoyed much of it. It was a time during which I learned a lot, but has not embittered me. It did not take long to heal from the brief pain and confusion. You did not take away my joy. I still love people and will do my best for them, even though some may turn out to be just like you. 
     I hope you and your family are doing well now. 
 
Blessings,
The One Who Grew From Being Hurt 
   
   
Categories: Writing Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

