Home > Writing > Letter #4 – Siblings

Letter #4 – Siblings

“I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” – Romans 12:1-2
 
“Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.” – Philippians 4:8
 
“A friend loveth at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.” – Proverbs 17:17

{we really need to take a picture with all of us to go here…}

05.19.12

Dearest Siblings,
You poor folks who have had to put up with me for part, or all, of your life.
 
To my Oldest Brother,
     You. Are. Awesome. Do you know that? I know when I was younger I drove you nuts. I hope that now I drive you a little bit less crazy, but still keep life a bit interesting. 😉 Thank you for staying in my life, even though we are far away location wise. Thank you for listening to me, answering my questions and giving me advice. Thanks for keeping track of me and how I was doing while I was away from home and traveling. Thank you for talking to me late at night where you are at while I walk from the parking lot to a building at night. Thank you for setting me straight when I need to be. Thank you for listening to my confused stories or thoughts and explaining things to me. You are the best oldest brother a girl could ask for… Actually, you’re better because a girl wouldn’t know to ask for all that you are. Thank you for your encouragement to explore more and new things and to figure other things out for myself. Thank you for bringing an older sister into our family. 🙂 
 
To my Second Oldest Brother,
     Mister, in this past year, you’ve grown up in a lot of ways. You know more about where you’ve been than I’ll ever know, but I can still tell that you have changed in a lot of ways. You are becoming a man that I can definitely be proud of. You’ve got an incredible story. You are coming back to your roots in more ways than one. Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to teach me to play volleyball and take me out for coffee. Thank you for both talking and listening. Thank you for working hard at your job and sticking with it. Thanks for the laughs and good times. Thanks for pushing me over the edge to try something new. 
 
To my One And Only (and younger) Sister,
     I think you’ve had to put up with me a lot more than the others as we share a room and are the only young girls in the family… What is it? “I smile because you are my sister; I laugh because there is nothing you can do about it”? You’ve had to put up with late night talks (that were always rather confusing and skipping from here to there), the laughing fits, the sharing of a room… Our personalities and styles are totally different, but somehow it all works in one way or another. You’ve grown up a lot in the past year and a half. The talks went from more minor things to real conversations. The thoughts shared have grown into real problems and solutions or just things going on in general. I’ve watched you go through some really tough situations, but you’re still OK. I’ve watched you grow as you’ve done things that you really didn’t want to do and were scared to do. Keep it up, kid. Oh, and that snake that I held up for you to see… Yeah, it was pretty awesome.
 
To my One And Only Younger (but bigger) Brother,
     Bud, you are… indescribable. The beat box, the drums… and yet, somehow, the quiet one. I never know what is going on in your mind (I think I’d get lost in there…) but I do know that you are becoming quite the young man. You are maturing. You are growing. I can no longer look down at you, but have to say “hi up there!” You aren’t just becoming a young man though; you are becoming a gentleman. You really have a servant’s heart. Just this past week you have filled up the mower for me, cleaned its air filter, washed my bicycle and filled up its tires, brought dinner up to me while I was in class, given me hugs and high-fives throughout the day… Sir, you are startling me every time I turn around. Hey, and you were more brave than either of your older brothers and let me cut your hair. And it wasn’t only once either! You are quite the handsome lad. 
 
     Well, there are a few of my thoughts for ya’ll. I love you guys more than you will ever realize. Always know that I would be more than happy to do anything I can for you.
 
Blessed To Be Your Middle Sibling
  
  
Categories: Writing Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

