Home > Writing > Letter #3 – Parents

Letter #3 – Parents

“Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it.” – Proverbs 22:6

05.18.12

To my parents,
 
     Thank you for all that you do. A lot of times, it doesn’t seem like I notice, I’m sure, but thanks for doing it all anyway. It is appreciated. Thank you for shaping me into who I am. Thank you for sticking together. 
 
Dad,
     Thank you for being the leader of our home. Thanks for being there for me, guiding and loving me, and for being a godly example. Thank you for not only teaching me the way I should go, but also showing me how to walk the walk. You’ve been teaching me a lot longer than anyone else. A lot of what you have taught me are things that some people will never learn. You’ve taught me responsibility, confidence, how to shoot, how to keep things clean and organized, time management, to listen and to learn, to do the hard things, to think, to watch and pay attention, to be respectful, to stay true to my commitments, to keep my word, and so much more. Anyone else that teaches me is only building on the solid foundation that you’ve given me. Thank you for being my protector. Thank you for providing me with a safe haven. Thank you for helping me to think things through. Thank you for letting me squeeze into the chair next to you, even though I might be a bit too big now… Thanks, Daddy!! Love you!
 
For being our leader…
For putting our well-being over your own…
For providing our needs…
For raising true Americans…
For making sacrifices for your posterity…
For caring about our country…
For preparing for our future…
For showing us the functions of a firearms…
For encouraging us to keep doing better…
For instilling Godly values into our beliefs…
For demonstrating what a true hero is…
Thank you.
 
 
Mom,
     Thank you for being who you are and what you do in my life. Thank you especially for doing those little things that nobody notices… until they aren’t done. Thanks for all of the sacrifices you make on a daily basis to care for your family. Thank you for being patient, putting up with the crazy stuff that I do, working through things with me, and, on top of it all, showing me what a godly wife and mother should be. Thank you for setting that example for me. Thank you for making our place a home, not just a house. Thanks, Mom!! Love you! 
 
For teaching us not to make the same mistakes as those before us…
For sheltering us from the evils of the world…
For persevering despite the extreme challenges of motherhood…
For those sleepless nights you spent on your knees on our behalf…
For demonstrating gracious womanhood…
For emulating Jesus Christ…
For your unfailing love and compassion…
For being YOU…
Thank you.
  
With much love,
Your Grateful Daughter 
 
 
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

