Home > Writing > Letter #2 – Teachers

Letter #2 – Teachers

“Show yourself in all respects to be a model of good works, and in your teaching show integrity, dignity, and sound speech that cannot be condemned, so that an opponent may be put to shame, having nothing evil to say about us.” – Titus 2:7-8 (ESV)

“A disciple is not above his teacher, but everyone when he is fully trained will be like his teacher.”  – Luke 6:40 (ESV)

05.17.12
 
Dear Teachers,
 
     This past year I have had seven of you and I do not think I could have been more blessed. You ARE a model of good works. You DO show integrity, dignity, and sound speech. Thank you for the time and energy that you have put into teaching me. Thank you for your patience as I make mistakes and learn. I don’t know that “teacher” is a good enough word to describe you; as at least a couple of you watched out for me in other ways than during class lectures, giving me instructions on assignments, and looking through my homework and giving me critiques. Some of you have helped me through some really rough times. Others have been the calm, joy, and steady that I needed on days when all I felt was turmoil, even though you’ll never know it and would probably be surprised if I told you that. Some of you have made dark days bright.
  • One of you has taken me from a place where I was beating my head against a wall for three years to finally being able to understand the subject and enjoy it.
  • One of you woke up at 4:00 am (PST) every Monday morning to be prepared to teach us at 5:00. Thanks so much!
  • One took me from the beginning and grew me up to where my folks are astonished at the improvement.
  • Two have taught me through a Bible study and opened my eyes to several things.
  • Three have taught me something that I’ve never been able to explore before (actually four if you don’t count things I have explored on my own).
  • Four of you have really challenged me in areas where I didn’t think I could meet the goal. However, you never stretched me farther than you knew I could go or gave me a challenge that you weren’t confident that I could meet. You gave me the instruction and encouragement I needed to get there and then set the bar higher for the next time.
  • All of you have given me a firm, biblical foundation on which to build.
     I am thankful that I will be able to continue to study under three of you next year. I am excited to learn more from you and see the improvement that comes with doing as you say. 
     May God bless each of you, guide your steps, and grant you peace. 
 
With thankfulness and love, 
Your Very Blessed Student 
 
 
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

