Home > Writing > Letter #1 – Close Friend

Letter #1 – Close Friend

“Iron sharpeneth iron; so a man sharpeneth the countenance of his friend.” – Proverbs 27:17

05.16.12
 
Dearest Friend,
 
     When I first met you, I had no idea how important to me you would become or how much I would come to love you. Funny how that one day in which we spent very few hours together could be the beginning of such a friendship. Before that day, I knew you as a friend of my brother, an “adopted” little sister of his. We didn’t begin to talk right after that one brief meeting. Our friendship really began to blossom with a short letter arriving in the mail several years ago. Something so small, yet something so big. Now my family jokingly says we write books to each other instead of letters.
     I never imagined that we could become so close, especially at this distance. Yet we have. Conversations in these letters have gone from surface stuff to things that really matter. Letters full of joys and struggles have been written and poured over. Encouragement has been sent, along with kind correction when needed. Stories told. Prayers are said for each. Thoughts of the other are present regularly. Phone calls have been made. I have grown so much from knowing you. I don’t know how to thank you for being such a great, faithful, true friend. 
 
With much love,
       Your Sister In Christ
 
 
  1. Gina Peterson
    May 16, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    This is lovely. You are much blessed!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

