50th Appleseed

I finally broke away from keeping up on my homework to work an Appleseed event for a day. Yes, it was only one day instead of the full weekend, but I am so glad I was able to. This was the first since October last year when my school load got such that I simply couldn’t keep up with both.

Today, I was thinking over the activities of the first day of the Appleseed event in Lewiston this weekend. This was the first event of the 2012 in Idaho and suddenly I began to wonder just how many events I’ve either attended or instructed at. I went back over my memory and After Action Reports and discovered that this was my 50th Appleseed. If you take out the three events that I was a shooter only at (doing no instruction at all) and the face-to-faces I’ve been to, this was my 45th. I’ve been able to get down on the line and shoot a bit at a few of the events that I’ve instructed at, but the bulk of the weekend was spent teaching.

I’ve had the privilege of watching Project Appleseed grow from 1 event in a year in this region to 25 in this one state in 2011, from 5 events nationally in a year, to over 1,000 events in 2011. Next weekend alone, there are 28 Appleseed events going on nationally. In 2011, on April 16-17 that was the weekend set aside to celebrate April 19th, 1775, there were 87 Appleseed events. Project Appleseed attendees fired around 8 million rounds in 2011. In Idaho alone, since 2006, we’ve held 47 Events and taught 815 Attendees. Personally, I’ve been able to work with people from ages 5 to 84.

Last year (mostly during the summer) I had the honor of meeting, working with, and learning from 90 Project Appleseed instructors, teaching in seven different states. Many wonderful memories and friendships were made. I won’t be doing that this year (the 7 states thing), but I am looking forward to working with the folks here in the Northwest Region often.

This will be my fourth year as an Instructor, and I am looking forward to all that it brings. The trail has been hard, full of fun and laughter, and has taught me so much. Every instructor and student I have meet has taught me something. I am very thankful for this opportunity to learn, grow, and then pass on what I’ve learned of Marksmanship and Heritage to others. There is nothing else like it.

Lastly, a picture from this weekend… There were two sets of twins at this particular Lewiston Appleseed event, which meant that the instructors had to keep track of the name tags. I’m sure the 9-year-olds enjoyed trying (successfully) to confuse me on which one was which. Just make ’em smile! One has a dimple. You do remember WHICH has the dimple… right? 😉

  1. wmearl
    February 12, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    Nice record, and think of the shooters you met. Very nice post, going on the Forum I hope,

    • March 6, 2012 at 4:38 pm

      Earl, thanks for taking the time to teach me. You definitely helped make that record happen.

  2. February 12, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    Wow! 50 Appleseeds, all but a few as an instructor, and you haven’t even graduated yet! I know it’s been fun to be part of the organization as it has grown. On behalf of all those who have benefitted from some awesome instructors, thanks for all you do! 🙂

    • March 6, 2012 at 4:39 pm

      Cathi, I’m glad you and your family are enjoy Appleseed events as well! Hope to meet you on the trial some day.

  1. February 12, 2012 at 7:19 pm

Leave a Reply

