Home > Life, Pictures > What do you miss?

What do you miss?

I think it is quite fitting this morning that the wordpress topic of the day is “What do you miss?”. Why would it be fitting? Last night I got the bad news the my dog got hit by a logging truck. I think it is rather obvious what my answer to “What do you miss?” is. Well, the short answer is obvious anyway.

The longer answer has to do with all that I did with Trudy. Doing chores, working in the garden, picking blueberries and raspberries, feeding the pigs (she’d keep the occupied while I got in there with the bucket and got out), running around outside, kicking a ball around with her (she was a great soccer player!), sitting in the yard, doing summersaults with her chasing me, not sure what to do, or standing on my head and she’d bark at me until I fell and then she’d jump on me….

A constant companion…. Always waiting for me, always there.

I miss the sound of her padding along the deck, running up the stairs, or even scratching an itch while sitting on the rug by the door.

She would always be waiting for me in the yard when I would get home late and nobody else was awake.

I miss my puppy!

But at the same time as I am missing her, I am thankful for all of the memories and time I had with her. Although I miss her tons, if I hadn’t have had her for the time that I did, I would not have been able to grow up with her… or do all of those things (and tons more) with her that I wrote about above…

Also, I am thankful that the logging truck driver was not hurt in the process of doing everything he could to avoid the inevitable. With a full load, locking up breaks and swerving is not anywhere near safe.

There is so much more I could say, but I don’t know how.

“The LORD gave, and the LORD hath taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD.” – Job 1:21b

(Thanks to my younger sister and brother for the above pictures)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

